Lake Winnipeg Research Consortium

Annual Science Meeting Agenda

 

Wednesday March 24th, 2010

9:00 AM to 3:30 PM

Holiday Inn South - 1330 Pembina Highway

 

MORNING SESSION – 9:00 AM

Welcome

 

Manitoba Water Stewardship – Lake Winnipeg Update

Nicole Armstrong (on behalf of Elaine Shipley*)  – MB Water Stewardship (*Elaine.Shipley@gov.mb.ca)

 

Update on the Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative

Nancy Hnatiuk – Environment Canada, Winnipeg (Nancy.Hnatiuk@ec.gc.ca)

 

Response of Benthos and Zooplankton to Nutrient Enrichment in Lake Winnipeg

Brenda Hann*1 and A. Salki2

1.     University of Manitoba, Biological Sciences (*Brenda_Hann@umanitoba.ca)

2.     Salki Consultants Inc., Winnipeg

 

Trophic Study of Invasive Rainbow Smelt (Osmerus mordax) and Native Walleye (Sander vitreus) in Lake Winnipeg, Manitoba

Katie T. Sheppard*, B. Hann & G. Davoren University of Manitoba, Biological Sciences (*umsheppk@cc.umanitoba.ca)

 

COFFEE – ends at 10:30 AM

 

Using Mitochondrial and Microsatellite DNA Variation to Investigate Population Structure of Walleye (Sander vitreus) in Lake Winnipeg

Stephanie Backhouse* & M. Docker University of Manitoba, Biological Sciences (*umbackhs@cc.umanitoba.ca)

 

Abundance of Small Fishes in the Offshore Waters of Lake Winnipeg

Chelsey Lumb, W. Franzin2 and D. Watkinson2

1.   Manitoba Water Stewardship, Fisheries Branch (*Chelsey.Lumb@gov.mb.ca)

2.   Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Freshwater Institute, Winnipeg

 

An assessment of Cyanobacterial Toxins in Lake Winnipeg

Brian G. Kotak*1, S. Watson2, H. Kling3 and C. Herbert4

1.     AlgalTox International, Pine Falls (*miette@xplornet.com)

2.     AEMRD, Environment Canada

3.     Algal Taxonomy and Ecology Inc., Winnipeg

4.     Parks Canada

 

Determination of Microcystins and Anatoxins in Fish, Plankton, and Water by LC-MS/MS

Gary Neumann*¹, V. Roscoe¹, G. Lombaert¹, T. Rawn²

1.   Health Canada, Food Program Laboratory, Winnipeg (*Gary.Neumann@hc-sc.gc.ca)

2.   Health Canada, Bureau of Chemical Safety, Food Research Division, Ottawa

LUNCH (a buffet is available at the hotel)

 

AFTERNOON SESSION – 1:00 PM

 

Possibility of Applying a Preliminary Ecopath Model to Lake Winnipeg Ecosystem Using Currently Available Data

M. Yamin Janjua Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Freshwater Institute (*yaminjanjua@hotmail.com)

 

The Role of Flooding in Phosphorous Loading to Lake Winnipeg

Greg McCullough*1, M. Stainton2

1.   University of Manitoba, CEOS, Environment and Geography (*gmccullo@cc.umanitoba.ca)

2.   Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Freshwater Institute, Winnipeg

 

Nutrient Sequestration in the Lake Winnipeg Basin

Brian Parker – Environment Canada, Winnipeg (Brian.Parker@ec.gc.ca)

 

Fish Habitat Management in Three Manitoba First Nations

Bruce Maclean – Centre for Indigenous Environmental Resources, Winnipeg (bmaclean@cier.ca)

 

Beating a Dead Horse Creek: Pharmaceutical and Agrochemical Contaminants in a Lake Winnipeg Watershed

Mark L. Hanson*1, J. Carlson1,2, W. Buhay3, and C. Wong2.

1.   University of Manitoba, Environment and Geography (*hansonm@cc.umanitoba.ca)

2.   University of Winnipeg, Richardson College for the Environment

3.   University of Winnipeg, Geography

 

Environment Canada Geoportal Update

Sarah Hall Environment Canada (Sarah.Hall@ec.gc.ca)

 

The National Aquatic Invasive Species Database: Data sharing in the Lake Winnipeg Watershed

Lynn Frazer* & L. Wesson Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Freshwater Institute, Winnipeg (*Lynn.Frazer@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

 

Lake Winnipeg Foundation - Project Initiatives

Lyle Lockhart Lake Winnipeg Foundation (llockhart@shaw.ca)

                 

Red-Assiniboine Project

Ute Holweger Agriculture and Agri-Food  Canada, Agri-Environment Services Branch (Ute.Holweger@agr.gc.ca)

 

Wrap-up of Science Meeting

 

COFFEE